Say You’re Mine by Diane Alberts

Say You're Mine (Shillings Agency, #5)Say You’re Mine by Diane Alberts
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Friends to lovers is one of my all time favorite tropes. Combine that with Brazen, probably my favorite line of books, thrown in the always amazing Diane Alberts and poof… a definite One-Click for me.

**POSSIBLE LITE SPOILERS AHEAD**

Say You’re Mine follows Steven, the ex-military man who, sadly, like too many of our military men and women today – has seen way too much of the horrors of war. He is home now, drinking himself silly and vowing never to get close to anyone or anything ever again.
Lauren has been his best friend since grade school. They love each other.. just not LOVE love. Lauren is sick of watching Steven drink and whore himself into stupor after stupor so she decides to take matters into her own hands one night with one teensy, weensy little white fib. The only problem.. Steven abhors liars of any kind.

First things first – the good. Diane Alberts can write some of the most realisticly strong women I have ever read. These are the kind of women I want my daughter to be like. They work hard, they play hard and they love hard. But at the end of the day, they are not pushovers and no one is going to run over them “in the name of love”. Lauren was this kind of character. She loved Steven with all her heart, she let him know and yes, she let her guard down. But once her heart was broken she picked up the pieces, said what she had to say, dropped the proverbial mic and walked off like a badass. It was awesome!
Second – the bad. Yes, Lauren lied to Steven. It was a tiny lie. I have told bigger lies in Sunday School class. It was not a big deal and in my opinion, should not have been the entire focus of the last third of the book. It didnt keep them from having a HEA, but dear God, I was afraid for a while it was going to.
Third – the ugly. There was no ugly. I really, REALLY liked this book. I almost loved it. I will definitely be recommending it to my friends. Diane Alberts never fails to impress! 🙂 4**** wickedgoodstars

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

