Paige in Progress by Brighton Walsh

26875510

Blurb…

She wanted a one-night stand…and then he moved in next door.

Paige Bennett is more than content with her life and what she does—and does not—have in it. She’s got a supportive family, a great apartment, and the best friend a girl could ask for; so what if her relationships expire faster than a carton of milk? After a disastrous detour courtesy of poor judgment in the boyfriend department, her plan is back on track and her dream job is finally within her grasp. Nothing can make her lose focus now. Well, nothing except the one-night stand she had with her best friend’s surrogate brother. The one-night stand she can’t stop thinking about.

Adam Reid has always been reliable…the responsible son, the loyal friend, the steady boyfriend. Two years ago, he graduated Magna Cum Laude and is well on his way to making a name for himself at an accounting firm in Denver—a far cry from working as a helper in the Mom and Pop store his parents own in Michigan. But when said store starts failing, he’s the only one who can step in and help. So reliable Adam does what he always does, and he comes to the rescue.

Paige thought Adam was a safe bet because he lives halfway across the country. But then suddenly he’s moving back to their town, and then into her apartment building, and soon he’s worming his way right into her life. If she’s not careful, he might sneak his way into her heart, too…

My Review…

 My rating: 4 of 5 stars

ARC received in exchange for an honest review……

I received this book last week, and in between other readings, decided to give this one a go. And I am happy that I did.

This was my first book by this author, so that means, I have not read the first two in this series. I think its safe to say this is a standalone about Paige and Adam, however I can see the appeal in having read the two prior books, so that you would know Cage/Winter/Tessa/Jason’s stories.

First, I loved Paige. She was a vulgar, take no shit kinda woman. She is very weary of relationships due to her own previous one failing, and seeing other’s fail so she lives a life of one week boyfriends or one night stands. Her and Adam have known each other for a while, but the fact that he moved away when she moved to town, they are not as close as the rest of the group.

Adam is a relationship guy, a serial monogamist if you will. He has no desire to have one night stands. One night with Paige several months before though has made it impossible for him to forget her. (she too, keeps thinking of him) So when he comes home to help his parent’s business, he wants to rekindle things however, he wants to build a relationship with her. So he does. In the process he falls in love with her. Paige has her heart so guarded tho, she does not tell him she too, has feelings, and she lets him leave…..

I struggle with reviews, I don’t want to give too much away, so I won’t blow the ending for you. But I loved this story. Ms. Walsh did an excellent job with this book. The writing for me, was spot on. The character development was great. I loved the dynamic between Paige and Adam, Paige and her brothers, and Paige/Adam and their friends. And also, Adam has a nice little dirty mouth on him and the smexy times were pretty awesome too.

I would definitely recommend this book to others.

And also, sometimes songs remind me of book characters.

Driving down the road today, Halo came on, and I think the lyrics are very fitting to Paige….

“Remember those walls I built?
Well, baby they’re tumbling down
And they didn’t even put up a fight
They didn’t even make a sound
I found a way to let you in
But, I never really had a doubt
Standing in the light of your halo
I got my angel now

It’s like I’ve been awakened
Every rule I had you breakin’
It’s the risk that I’m taking
I ain’t never gonna shut you out!”

Leave a Reply

