*Review* The Lion’s Den by Eliza Freed

The Lion's Den (Faraway, #2)The Lion’s Den by Eliza Freed
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

*I was given this ARC in exchange for an honest review*

The Lion’s Den is the sequel to The Devil’s Playground and is the conclusion to the Faraway series written by Eliza Freed. I knew after reading Devil’s Playground I absolutely HAD to know what happened to Meredith and anxiously waited to get my hands on Lion’s Den.
The story picks up right where book 1 leaves off and immediately I felt as though I had jumped into the deep end of a very nice swimming pool and was swimming alone… again. I was immersed. This was a lengthy book and I read the entire thing in two settings, which is extremely rare for me. Eliza Freed has a way of doing that to me. Its not only her characters, which are so complex I felt as though I was living their lives with them.. but also the story itself. Everything really. The town, school, beaches, Jenna’s house.. I knew it all. I have been so connected to every part of each of these two books. It is almost surreal to me.
I feared going into this read that it had been too many months since I had read Devil’s Playground. That maybe I wouldn’t remember the story or that maybe I really didn’t like it as much as I thought I did and this one would be a disappointment. I was wrong. So, so very wrong. The characters were just as strong. (God, how I HATED Brad.) The story was just as powerful and engaging. It was simply awesome. And not beer and wings on Friday night awesome. But awesome when you get finished reading a book you look up and take a deep breath and go…. WHOA. Then you wonder what the heck you are going to read next.
I give The Lion’s Den 5***** WickedGoodStars and will recommend it to readers who arent afraid to put their lives on hold for several hours. Because this book is going to require it. Its going to steal not only your attention but your very soul while you are reading it.

KUDOS, Eliza Freed! This series is going to be hard to top. 🙂

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

