**Review** How To Save A Life by Emma Scott

HOWTOCOVER

Now Available

http://amzn.com/B019P19F4Q

BLURB

Josephine Clark is trapped. A harrowing past haunts her every time she looks in the mirror, and she can’t escape the violence of her everyday life. More and more, her thoughts turn to Evan Salinger, the boy she knew in high school. The boy they called a mental case. A loner. A freak. The boy who seemed to know things no one could know. For a few short weeks, Jo had found perfect solace in Evan’s company, sneaking every night to meet him at the local pool. In the cool of the water and the warmth of Evan’s arms around her, Jo had tasted something close to happiness.

Cruel circumstances tore them apart, and four years later, the sweet memory of their time together is dissolving under the punishing reality of Jo’s life now. Evan seems like a fading dream…until he reappears at the moment she needs him most. Guided by Evan’s strange intuition, they flee her small Louisiana town, on the run from the police, and Jo begins to suspect there is something more to his sudden return than he admits.

Over twelve days across America’s heartland, deep secrets come to light, buried pasts are unearthed, and the line between dreams and reality is blurred as Evan and Jo fight to hold on to their soul-deep love, and discover that there is more than one way to save a life.

How to Save a Life is a complete second-chance STANDALONE novel with shades of the paranormal. It carries the characters from high school through to their early twenties. It is not YA; mature subject matter and sexual situations. TRIGGER WARNING: some domestic violence (on the page) and mentions of sexual abuse (off the page) For readers 18 years and up.

howto1

MY REVIEW

5WickedGoodStars

Quite frankly, I loved this book.

I thought, in the beginning, that this book was kind of giving me a Law of Moses feel………So I assumed I knew what was going on with Evan…..but no….not quite….

We meet Evan and Jo in high school. Jo, a lost soul who is being cared for by a cousin to her mother, after having suffered tremendous pain/suffering/abuse/loss. They wind up in BFE and she meets Evan, the town “freakshow”. Poor Evan, whose own mother abandoned him…WHY? Why did she do that? She obviously loved her son, cared for him. Why did she condemn him to a life where he was in limbo for years before he was adopted by a family I am not even sure really loved him? Did she sense something about him as a child that she either could not or did not want to deal with?

howto2

But all is not as it seems with Evan. And honestly, I STILL am not sure why Evan was the way he was. I mean, obviously, something guided him, something had been preparing him for this one moment…or several moments that lead up to that one moment…

I loved the pull these two had to each other, perhaps….they are soul mates. I am pretty sure that for Evan, for a long time, everything was about Jo. He probably knew she was coming before she did. Probably knew that he needed to keep her safe, and that at some point, he would.

The plot of this story was great and I felt, flowed very well. I loved the characters and the love story of these two. These two were old souls, mature for their age. There was not your typical teenage angst issues in the first half of this book and I appreciated that.

I received a copy of this book from the very generous author. I will definitely be reading more of her work.

howto3

 

And just because I love to associate music with books…..the author includes a playlist at the beginning of this book, which includes The Story by Brandi Carlile. This is one of my favorite songs of all time, so I am sharing the lyrics as well because….I think they are fitting to this story.

“All of these lines across my face
Tell you the story of who I am
So many stories of where I’ve been
And how I got to where I am
But these stories don’t mean anything
When you’ve got no one to tell them to
It’s true… I was made for you

I climbed across the mountain tops
Swam all across the ocean blue
I crossed all the lines and I broke all the rules
But baby I broke them all for you
Because even when I was flat broke
You made me feel like a million bucks
You do and I was made for you

You see the smile that’s on my mouth
It’s hiding the words that don’t come out
And all of my friends who think that I’m blessed
They don’t know my head is a mess
No, they don’t know who I really am
And they don’t know what I’ve been through like you do
And I was made for you…

All of these lines across my face
Tell you the story of who I am
So many stories of where I’ve been
And how I got to where I am
But these stories don’t mean anything
When you’ve got no one to tell them to
It’s true… I was made for you

Oh yeah, well it’s true… that
I was made for you…”

Leave a Reply

