*Review* Steal by D. G. Whiskey

steal

Kat
The last thing I needed in my life was another arrogant jerk to distract me from my career.

But there was something about James I couldn’t resist, despite how wrong it was. He took control every time we were together, and it felt so good to let him.

Despite how he made me feel, I couldn’t shake the conviction that he would destroy me.

James
Manipulating people is an art, and I’m Michelangelo.

My name is James Stratton. At least, that’s the name I’m using right now. I’m a con artist. A grifter. But I only steal from assholes who deserve it.

Kat has no idea that I’m her childhood friend. I’ve changed. Grown. Matured. And I’m back to get even with the girl who broke my heart.



 

**MY REVIEW**

Steal is the first book I have read by D. G. Whiskey and I can honestly say it turned out to be nothing like what I expected.  I think, in my mind at least, I was leaning toward more of a somewhat sappy, sexy romance with an alpha male and a weaker female role.  I was wrong.  James (or Alex as we later find out) is a con man – and a really good one.  Hes more of a Robin Hood than a straight up criminal though.  Is he a thief… technically yes, but he steals from the rich criminals and gives the money back where it rightfully belongs.

Kat works for ARCANE, a cyber security start up company whose claim to fame is they are impenetrable.  Or they claim to be.  Is it just a claim or can they put their money where their mouths are?  James wants her bad.  Or does he just want access to the secrets her companys security systems are hiding?  What about Nick – the arrogant jerk of a boss – what’s his story?

Ohhhh…. this book was good.  The suspense.  The action and drama.  There was a little of everything and a whole lot of sexy!  There were several twists that I seriously NEVER saw coming.  Steal was one of those stories that was hard to put down.  It kept me actively engaged right up through the epilogue.

Now for the technical part.

Character development – I usually like to know a whole lot about my characters, especially the main ones.  I want to know exactly what they look like, how tall they are, what they had for breakfast, if they paint their nails.  I mean, I get super nosy intimate with these people.  This author did not.  I felt like she was focused more on the story than the characters (totally NOT a bad thing at all) – 3.

Storyline – The storyline flowed at a very fast pace and was extremely well developed.  I was never tempted to skim or skip.  Very nice.  – 5 all the way

Cover – Seriously?  – 5

Overall readability – I had a little bit of trouble keeping up.  I think its because, for me anyway, the characters were just a bit underdeveloped and the story was going so fast that occasionally I would get lost and have to go back and re-read a section just to catch up.  – 4

I happily give Steal by D. G. Whiskey 4**** WickedGoodStars!

Thank you for the opportunity to read/review this book!



 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

