*Review* Falling Completely by Aidan Willows

Falling Completely (Starling Falls, #1)Falling Completely by Aidan Willows
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Sometimes my blog partner and I will get emails from authors that say… “Hey, I wrote this book. I will send you a copy in exchange for an honest review. Here is what its about.” When we get these emails we will discuss it between ourselves and try to figure out if either of us is interested in reading the book, if we have time in our schedules.. then we get back in touch with the author. (Side note- my partner and I also work together in our ‘real world’ jobs.)
So, sitting at work one day I get this email (see above). Its from Aidan Willows and its Falling Completely. I send Amanda, my blog partner, an IM to let her know I am definitely interested in this book and will be requesting it. She sends me one back, she is interested too and she knows how busy my schedule is so she will just go ahead and request it to keep me from getting behind. This begins about a 20 minute, silent IM war over which one of us is going to get this book. Finally, we swallow our pride, salvage the friendship and just request two copies from the author because it sounds like a really good one that we will both enjoy.

The story opens up with the main female character Liya and her sister discussing the fact that they have an elderly great-aunt whose health is failing and they are going to move to the US to be with her and help her out in a bakery she owns. Liya and her sisters parents are deceased and other than this distant aunt, they have no other family.
Caleb, the main male character, grew up as the second of 6 children to some really horrible parents. Thank God his uncle and aunt stepped in and raised the kids when they did or there is really no telling where they might have ended up. Both Caleb and Liya have attachment issues, which are brought out early on in the story and play a different role for each of them.
The first thing I would like to say is that I am very glad this is a series! The author has created an entire family of personalities – this is Caleb’s book and I am itching to get my hands on book two already. I loved the fact that not only were the two main characters, Caleb and Liya, so well developed and three dimensional – but the supporting cast was as well. By the end of the story I felt like I had really gotten to know Caleb’s brothers and his sister as well as Liya’s sister. And Caleb’s aunt – OMG… she is just precious. The love she has for her “children”. It just warms my heart.
Falling Completely really has a wonderful balance of sweet and incredibly sexy (yeah baby!). The story itself has a lot of heart. I enjoyed it immensely and was thrilled to be invited to read/review it!
I give it 4.5**** WickedGoodStars and am eagerly awaiting the sequel!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

