*Review* Forbidden Heat by J.L. White

Forbidden Heat (Firework Girls #1)Forbidden Heat by J.L. White

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

*I was invited to read/review this book by the author in exchange for an honest review*

One day, seemingly out of nowhere, an email pops into my inbox from JL White. She had run across my and my partner’s tiny blog and liked a review I had written of another book. Thought I might enjoy this new series she had – Firework Girls – would I be interested in checking out the first book in the series?
I LOVE NEW AUTHORS! I had never read any of her work, or really even heard of her, for that matter, so I was super interested in this book. I had many things to clear off the ol’ calendar before I could finally get to Forbidden Heat but the wait made the reward that much sweeter.

Shane is a very young college professor, teaching a class in philsophy at Hartman. He’s hotter than sin, with a body to die for. But screwing students? NO, he certainly doesnt make that a habit.

Isabella the heiress – is THISCLOSE to graduating when the god of mishandled credits finds she needs philosophy on her transcript. She enrolls in Shanes class and the sparks instantly fly. Will the two give in to temptation or keep it clean until after the final pomp and circumstance?

The story is written entirely in Isabella’s POV and that is fine with me except for the fact that, in my opinion, it left Shane a little undercooked. My favorite way to read is dual POV but im guessing that is probably a difficult thing to pull off. Dont get me wrong, Shane was a strong character. I just felt that with a voice of his own, he could have been so much more three dimensional. I loved the fact that he didnt push Isabella away and play the emotional tug of war with her. Once he settled in, that was that.
Isabella was perfectly ripe and ready for harvest. She was such a well developed character that she carried every scene she was attached to. I really loved her and that is huge for me to say as I am usually pretty hard on the female leads in stories. The secondary characters in the read were smashing as well. I loved, LOVED Isabella’s girlfriends (and one guy – LOL)! The author really did a great job spinning them out, getting us all revved up for the sequels and great things to come.

I am thrilled that JL White contacted me to read/review Forbidden Heat. 4**** WickedGoodStars all the way for this beauty!



Amazon buy links for the series:

Forbidden Heat (Isabella, Book 1)

                Amazon:  www.amazon.com/Forbidden-Heat-Firework-Girls-Book-ebook/dp/B01CYI91RI

Midnight Heat (Chloe, Book 2)

                Amazon: www.amazon.com/Midnight-Heat-Firework-Girls-Book-ebook/dp/B01CYI91UU

Eternal Heat (Ashley, Book 3)

                Amazon: www.amazon.com/Eternal-Heat-Firework-Girls-Book-ebook/dp/B01D9ENXSE

Nuclear Heat (Sam, Book 4)

                Amazon: www.amazon.com/Nuclear-Heat-Firework-Girls-Book-ebook/dp/B01F5NGY4W

One thought on “*Review* Forbidden Heat by J.L. White

  1. Thank you so much for being willing to check it out! I’m glad it was worth the wait. 🙂

    The fourth book in the series has both H/h POVs (because Jack is an honorary Firework Girl, after all!). My new series will all be H/h POVs (which I prefer too) but Firework Girls 2 and 3, especially, seemed to work better with just the girls POV. 🙂

    FYI, y’all, book 2 is on sale right now and the others will be on sale soon, leading up to the release of Book 4 on June 28. Details on my FB page.

    Thank you again for reading and reviewing! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

