**Review**Going Down by Katherine Stevens

businessman working on laptop  in black suit

Amazon

Blurb

The plan for Cici Carrington was to steadily climb UP the corporate ladder, and hopefully do so without her skirt tucked into the back of her underpants. Unfortunately, there was no contingency plan for the aftermath of spending a night trapped in an elevator with a suit-wearing Elevator Sex God named Cole Danvers. A one…or two-time dalliance wouldn’t normally throw off the course of someone’s life…unless you find out you have to work together the next day.

To further complicate matters, Cici’s best friend is also her Human Resources Director. She has to hide her secret from every person she knows. Her only confidant is her one-eyed cat, and his loyalty is tenuous at best. Toss in an accidental mugging, a bungled disguise, secret meetings, and unintentional arson, and Cici’s beautiful, careful plan has fallen by the wayside.

Perhaps there aren’t any hard and fast rules in life. Sometimes you can have your cake and eat it too. Sometimes following the rules doesn’t get you ahead.

And perhaps sometimes you can get off between floors… (less)

 

GoingDownTease.png

My Review

Who doesn’t love a book full of surprises? A book where hilarity ensues page in and page out? I know I do. I welcome them-especially after reading multiple angst filled books that leave me feeling like I needtherapy.

So enter Katherine Stevens. I first read Katherine Stevens in Felony Ever After, where I found myself absolutely loving her chapters. SO of course, when I saw that she was putting out her debut novel, I just HAD to read it.

This book is so perfect, it’s almost hard for me to put into words, but I will try. First, you have CiCi….this girl was all kind’s of hilarious. I mean, if something totally out of left field can happen, it WILL happen to her. CiCi works for an advertising agency as an Assistant Vice President. She soon learns that there has been a major shake up at her job, and she is now an actual vice president. The shake up is a result of some office shenanigans if you know what I mean-which are apparently “frowned upon” in her work environment.

So on her way home from work in her decrepit building with equally decrepit elevator, of course she get’s stuck over night with a hot guy she has never met. CiCi literally has verbal diarrhea and basically if she thinks it she says it, and never listens to her conscious when it tells her to shut up. So this should be a fun evening, right?

Enter Cole….or Elevator Sex God if you will. He’s equally funny, sweet, educated…they bond over a purse full of children’s snacks and watch movies on her phone. They have similar personalities and seem to have a lot in common. PLUS, they are attracted to each other, and well, one thing leads to another……

Ahh but then remember, if it can happen, it WILL happen to CiCi and it turns out that Cole is her new assistant. Without giving away too much more of the story, you simply have to read it. All the side character’s are hilarious, but I especially loved Cole and CiCi. This book was a breath of fresh air, a break that I absolutely needed before diving back into my angst filled world of books on my TBR.
I cannot wait to read more from Katherine Stevens!!

Leave a Reply

