*Review* Cowboy Rising by Mia Hopkins

Cowboy Rising (Cowboy Cocktail, #5)Cowboy Rising by Mia Hopkins

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Ohhh Mia Hopkins, how do I love thee?… let me count the ways. At this point, there would be 5 ways – each of them beginning with the words ‘Cowboy Cocktail’.
This book is number five – Cowboy Rising, and it is the story of Daniel MacKinnon and Georgia Meyers. If you have read any (or like me, all) of the previous CC books, you will immediately recognize the highly educated, quietly stoic Daniel MacKinnon. With a handful of fancy college degrees Daniel set out to be a petroleum engineer in Texas. But life had other plans for him (no spoilers). So hes back – pulling calves and riding the fences alongside his brothers in Oleander. Enter Georgia Meyers. A beautiful journalist who is sent to write a story about the MacKinnon ranch as it converts to a completely organic method of raising its cattle. She is like a helium filled balloon caught in the breeze – floating here and there with nothing to tie her down. She has no family to speak of, no real roots. Daniel on the other hand, feels the weight of the world on his shoulders. Hes as rooted as a 100 year old oak tree and couldnt break free if he wanted. Their worlds collide in Cowboy Rising and Mia Hopkins brought it all to the table with this one. Emotion filled, steamy sex, and just the right amount of drama to keep you drawn into the story until the very end.
My only hitch with this story (and its minor) was that it’s the fifth book in the series but chronologically speaking, its thrown them out of order. At least for me. I discussed this with another couple of reviewers and they had no problems with it at all, so its probably just me. But I like things to transition in order and I felt like CR broke the order of the stories (example – the girls, Harmony and Melody, are young in this story. I have already read their books where they are adults). This may not bother any other readers but it nagged my mind.
With that out of the way (I apologize), I would love to spend some time in Mia Hopkins head as she is coming up with these characters and stories – I love them THAT. MUCH. This has been one of my favorite series to read this past year and honestly I hope she continues this series for a very long time!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

